COMMON NEW YORK STATE BOATING LAWS
Boating activity on Augur Lake can best be described as moderate with motor boats, kayaks, sail boats and canoes making up the fleet. Some of the key New York State boating safety laws are summarized below.
1. Recreational vessels must display required navigational lights at all times between sunset and sunrise and during daylight periods of reduced visibility.
2. Every pleasure vessel including canoes, kayaks and rowboats must have on board one
US Coast Guard-approved personal flotation device (PFD) for each person on the vessel.
3. Personal Water Craft (PWC) may not be used on Augur Lake in accordance with local town ordinance.
4. In New York State, vessel speed is generally limited to 5 mph when within 100 feet of the shore, a dock, pier, raft, float or anchored boat
5. In order to operate a motorized boat in NYS without adult supervision individuals must be at least 18 years of age or have successfully completed a safe boating course and be between the ages of 10 and 18. Individuals less than 18 years of age who have not successfully completed a boating safety course may only operate a motorized vessel under the direct supervision of an individual who is 18 years of age or older.
6. No one may operate a vessel on the waters of NYS while impaired or intoxicated either through the consumption of drugs or alcohol.
NYS Boater's Guide for 2020